Forgot Password?



Award Recipients - 2008

TH Maiman Award

Prof. Dr. Raimund HibstThe TH Maiman Award is presented for excellence in dental laser research. The first laser was developed by Theodore H. Maiman in 1960. The 2008 recipient is Prof. Dr. Raimund Hibst.

Mrs. Kathleen Maiman with Laser ReplicaProfessor Hibst has been educated in physics and biology. He received a PhD degree in physics from the University of Bochum, the venia legendi in biomedical engineering from the University of Ulm in 1995 (medical faculty), and in 2000 he became professor for laser and dental technologies (faculty of engineering, University of Ulm). Since 1986 he has been with the Institut für Lasertechnologien in der Medizin und Meßtechnik, Ulm, Germany, where he became appointed as director in 2008. His special interest is in optical methods in dentistry.

Among his projects has been the development of an Er:YAG laser system for dental and oral therapeutic applications (KEYä laser) and caries detection by fluorescence, which is also now used in clinical practice (DIAGNOdentä). The Er:YAG laser research was awarded by the university of Ulm in 1990. In 1998 he received the award for best cooperation with industry. Raimund Hibst is editor of "Medical Laser Applications" and board member of several journals.

Professor Hibst may be reached by e-mail at

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is presented for outstanding commitment and contribution to the Academy. The 2008 recipient is Lester B. Burman, DDS.

Dr. Lester Burman guided ALD as President in 2001 and served on the executive committee since 1997. Dr. Burman has been involved in ALD continuously, providing countless volunteer hours, starting as a founding charter member.

Dr. Lester BurmanOne major contribution to ALD occurred in 1999 when Les was instrumental in safeguarding ALD's financial position. As Vice President, Les helped to spearhead the executive and board decision to move ALD from Detroit to Coral Springs. Another area of contribution is Les's expertise in running a successful meeting, an important revenue source for any organization. Les brought ALD to Tucson in 2001 and ALD returned in 2006. He has been involved in various aspects of Conference planning throughout the years. Among his many service commitments, he has participated on the conference host committee, was involved in the early stages of the luncheon for learning, was golf chairman for several years, and has served on the Dr. Eugene Seidner Scholarship Committee.

Dr. Burman started his career with lasers in dentistry in 1991. He was a pioneer in the clinical uses of lasers in his private practice being one of the initial users of the Nd:YAG laser in the state of New Jersey. He was co-founder and the first President of the Metropolitan Academy of Laser Dentistry. During the time when the Academy of Laser Dentistry was in the early development Dr. Burman was co-chairman of the East Coast Laser Symposium for two years, a laser meeting held in New York City. In June 2007, after 39 years in private practice Dr.Burman retired with his wife Doanna in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida.

He can be reached by email at


ALD 2019

*** Paid Advertisement ***