Forgot Password?



Award Recipients - 2007

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is presented for outstanding commitment and contribution to the Academy. Dr. Arthur Levy, DMD is the 2007 recipient.

Dr. Arthur Levy, DMDDr. Levy is a 1971 graduate of Fairleigh S. Dickinson University School of Dental Medicine. He completed a General Practice Residency in the Newark Beth Israel Medical Center and spent two years at Malcolm Grow Medical Center in Washington, DC as a Prosthodontic Officer in the United States Air Force. In 1990, Dr. Levy was a charter member of the Int'l Academy of Laser Dentistry as well as the Metropolitan Academy of Laser Dentistry of New York and New Jersey. Through these organizations, he continued to teach about lasers in dentistry. At the formation of the Academy of Laser Dentistry in 1993 Dr. Levy served as a member of the Board of Directors continuing for two 3-year terms of board service. Over the years, he has put in tremendous amounts of time assisting various ALD committees displaying leadership throughout all that he does. For the past few years, Dr. Levy has served as the International Relations Chairman of the Academy. Dr. Levy maintains an active private practice in Chester, New Jersey. He can be reached by email at

Past Award Winners include: Dr. Stewart Rosenberg, 1993; Dr. Scott Brundrett, 1995; Mr. John Sulewski, 1996; University of California, San Francisco in 1997; Dr. David M. Roshkind, 1998, Dr. Alan J. Goldstein, 1999; Dr. William Siminovsky in 2000; Dr. Stuart Coleton, 2002; Dr. Donald Patthoff, 2003, Dr. Tony Hewlett, 2004; Dr. Joel White, 2005; and Dr. Donald Coluzzi, 2006.

Leon Goldman Award

The Leon Goldman Award is presented for clinical excellence. Dr. Giovanni Olivi is one of two 2007 recipients.

Dr. Giovanni OliviDr. Giovanni Olivi practices in Endodontics and in Esthetic and Restorative Dentistry in Rome, Italy. He has been a medical doctor since 1986, and received a postgraduate degree in dentistry in 1989. He has been interested in laser dentistry since 2000 and is also a co-founder of the Italian Affiliated Study Club of the ALD. Dr. Olivi uses four laser wavelengths in his dental practice (Er:YAG, Er,Cr:YSGG, 810-nm diode, and DIAGNOdent). Dr. Olivi is a laser clinical consultant at the University of Rome Tor Vergata Pediatric Department. Some of his clinical cases have been published in The Journal of the Academy of Laser Dentistry. Dr. Olivi may be contacted via e-mail at

Dr. Frank YungDr. Frank Yung is another distinguished 2007 recipient of the Leon Goldman Award for clinical excellence.

Dr. Frank Yat-Wai Yung graduated in 1980 with honors from the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada. After working one year in Northern Ontario, he settled in his private practice in Toronto since 1981. He achieved Advanced Proficiency for the use of diode laser (980 nm) in 2003 and the Er: YAG laser (2940 nm) in 2004. Dr. Yung was awarded the ALD Educator certificate in 2005. He is a part-time staff member in Clinical Dentistry, Department of Oral Medicine, Faculty of Dentistry, University of Toronto. Dr. Yung is one of the founding members of the Canadian Dental Relief International, an all volunteer, self-funded organization dedicated to helping the underprivileged through the practice of Dentistry. Dr. Yung has had three clinical case studies published in The Journal of the Academy of Laser Dentistry in 2004 and in Wavelengths in 2003. He also published an article in the Journal of the Canadian Dental Association in 2005. Dr. Yung may be reached by email at

Previous award winners: Dr. Kim Kutsch,1993; Dr. Robert Pick,1995; Dr. Steven Parker, 1998, Dr. Donald J. Coluzzi and Dr. Robert E. Barr, 1999; Dr. Janet Hatcher Rice, 2000; Ms. Nora M. Raffetto, RDH, 2001; Dr. Duane H. Beers, 2002; Dr. Gabi Kesler, 2004; and Dr. Glenn vanAs, 2006.